All posts by ThisIsOpenMusic!

Piratio track in Nute Records mix

Putetiden -II- by nuterecords

Our own Piratio features in this rather good promo mix for Nute Records.Originally started as an LP offshoot of the, now defunkt, Trensmat Records – Nute continues to release quality psyche-electronic CDs by artists such as Whirling Hall Of Knives and also sporadically transmit some amazing mix-shows under the c60 podcast moniker.

C60-005 – previous c60′s are archived on


01 The Horror Factory – Intro
02 Shaolin Wooden Men – Brother Ray (On The Radio, Joe!)
03 Silo – Those Adopted By People
04 Whirlywirld – Window To The World
05 Telex – Pakmoväst
06 The Cosmic Nanou – The Miraculous Intervention
07 Thomas Dinger – Ballgeflüster
08 World Of Skin – Breathing Water
09 All About Eve – Some Finer Day
10 Suicide – New City
11 Piratio – Boil Into UV
12 Children Under Hoof – Tactical Assault 2
13 Thread Pulls – Cycle Path
14 Ollie Olsen – 00:09:26
15 Tones On Tail – Rain

Co-operative Album for Laura Sheeran

Everyone with a few pennies to spare in these hard times should consider sharing said pennies with Laura Sheeran, helping to create her new album. Here’s what she had to say about it:

Hello dear friends! My debut double album “Lust of Pig and the Fresh Blood” has been in development for almost 4 years now and is ready for final mixing, mastering and pressing. By making a pledge you can help this happen. You will also have an opportunity to get exclusive access to a wide variety of irresistible extras (check out that list – there’s some interesting stuff there!), as well as receiving a free download of the double album on release so that you can listen to it while you wait for hard copy goods to arrive in the post… With your valued support providing the final push, the double album will be released in September on CD, vinyl and as a digital download. So if you like what you’ve heard of my material so far, take the pledge – help me give birth to this baby! A percentage of all pledges will be donated to De Paul Ireland, a totally worthwhile and necessary organisation that has been making a big difference to the lives of many.

Pledge your money here!

Trent Reznor talking about free music

I’ve always had mixed feelings about Trent Reznor’s releases since he’s dived headlong into releasing free music, and he himself has had mixed results (see his open letter response to the ‘Niggy Tardust’ release on his blog, for example) but you cannot deny he’s serious about setting standards and making an impact.

While you’re here, go grab his latest release ‘How to destroy angels‘. As you can guess, yes it’s free….

Music for the Deep Woods


Laura’s music can be dark and a bit scary in places but live she has a wonderfully fun approach to her music. She’s like an episode of Twin Peaks in female form.

-Aoife Barry (Nialler9 Blog)

I have been chasing Laura Sheeran to give me a release for Open for literally 3 years (beginning in my Net-Lab days). I heard her sing only once in person, for about 60 seconds, and I’ve been affected by it ever since.

Be it her solo work, which runs the spectrum from naively sexual and gentle (in a playing outside in the summer kind of way) to immensely dark and tortured (Trapped Under Ice opens with the lyrics ‘There’s panic in the atmosphere. My heart beats so fast, I cut through my tongue in fear…‘), or her contributions with Fovea Hex, one cannot help but be blown away by the sheer (no pun intended) emotional weight of her output -where she waves her fingers, or quivers her lip, beautiful music gushes forth in dischordant waves of distress and comfort.

And luckily for us, this release is no different. Featuring contributions from members of Fovea Hex and Nurse with Wound (we can’t believe it either!), plus some veterans of the Irish noise and outsider folk scenes, this is an all-too brief glimpse at amazing natural talent reaching upwards.

Lupine Rot (Aoibheann/Sheeran)

  • Emily Aoibheann (Cixous Ghost) – lyrics
  • Marc Aubele (pig) – vocals/guitar/noise
  • Adrian Crowley – vocals
  • Laura Sheeran – vocals/programming/lyrics

Under the Ice (Coutelier/Sheeran/Aoibheann)

  • Emily Aoibheann – lyrics
  • Alexandre Coutelier (++-++¢++¦¦) – beats/synth
  • Colin Potter (nurse with wound) – sounds of hysteria
  • Marc Aubele – guitar
  • Laura Sheeran – saw/vocals/rhodes/kaoss/lyrics

Suspension Belt (Sheeran)

  • Marc Aubele – abstract alien conversation-like noise
  • Laura Sheeran – piano/wobbly vinyl/programming

Ag Chuimniú (SWALL)

  • Michael Begg (fovea hex/human greed) – ambient soundscape
  • Saoirse Wall (SWALL) – lyrics/songwriter
  • Laura Sheeran – guitar/vocals/synth

Rain Song (Sheeran)

  • Tchaikovsky – ambient soundscape
  • Brian Conniffe – treated thunder
  • Marc Aubele – more treated thunder!
  • Clodagh Simonds (Fovea Hex) – voice
  • Laura Sheeran – voice

All Songs
Arranged by Laura Sheeran
Produced by Sheeran/Aubele
Mixed by Marc Aubele
Mastered by Kevin White